Simply Solids Bee Tutorial – Alberta Triangles

Next month it is my turn to be queen bee in the Simply Solids bee that I’m a member of.  It took me awhile to choose the block that I wanted everyone to make.  I saw this block somewhere, but for the life of me I cannot remember where that was.  I searched in my books and online for the name of it, but I couldn’t find it anywhere.  If someone knows what this block is called, can you let me know?  For now it will known as Alberta Triangles, since that’s where I’m from and what it’s made of.  Original, right?

SS Bee May 3

This is what we’ll be making.  Let’s get started!

SS Bee Tut 1

To start with, you will cut:
A: 4 – 2″x5″ rectangles – background
B: 4 – 2″x3.5″ rectangles – background
C: 12 – 2 3/8″ squares – flying geese wings/background
D: 1 – 4 1/4″ square – flying geese base #1
E: 1 – 4 1/4″ square – flying geese base #2
F: 1 – 4 1/4″ square – flying geese base #3
H: 2 – 4″ square – HST
J: 2 – 4″ square – HST
I: 1 – 3 1/2″ square – centre

There is no G. I do not know my alphabet.

Ss Bee Tut 2
SS Bee Tut 3

Draw a line through the 12 C squares and both H and J squares. I typically use a hera marker for this (see the left side of the photo) but you could use any marking tool you prefer. I marked some with a pencil so that you could see the line better.

SS Bee Tut 4

For the H and J squares, layer one red square with one black square, and sew 1/4″ away from the marked line, on both sides. Cut apart on the marked line, and press, either open or to one side, whatever your preference is. Square up to 3 1/2″ There is a detailed tutorial of this method here, if you need more details.

To make the flying geese, take the background squares (C) and layer one square on the opposing corners of each of the three 4 1/4″ squares (D, E, F, flying geese bases).

SS Bee Tut 5

Sew 1/4″ away from the marked line on both sides (# 1). Cut apart on the marked line (# 2), then press, either open or to the side, depending on your preference (# 3).

SS Bee Tut 6

Take another background square (C) and place it on the open corner with the marked diagonal pointing toward the intersection between the previously sewn on squares (# 1). Sew 1/4″ away from the marked line, on both sides. Cut apart on the lines, then press (# 2). You will end up 12 flying geese total: each original base square will give you 4 finished geese. Trim the geese to 2″ x 3.5″, if necessary.

SS Bee Tut 7

Lay out your block. Sew the sections together. I forgot to take pictures of it in progress. Sorry! I’m sure you can figure it out though. 🙂

SS Bee May 3

Here is your finished block! It should measure 12.5″ unfinished.

I made a second block in a completely different colour scheme to show you how versatile this pattern can be.

SS Bee May 1

The block will look totally different depending on what colours you decide to use and where you want to put them. In the second block the middle, chartreuse geese blend in with the background a lot more, and the outer red triangle form a kind of chain around the perimeter of the block.

quilt-blocks

I made a sketch in EQ to show this to a greater extent. All of these blocks are the same, but the different colour and value placements makes them look very different.  In some, the nine-patch stands out, in others, it’s the flying geese.  I love blocks that do this!

If you have any questions about the tutorial, please ask and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can.  If you make one of these blocks, I’d love to see it!  And since this will be an in progress quilt, I’m linking up to The Needle and Thread Network.

11 thoughts on “Simply Solids Bee Tutorial – Alberta Triangles

  1. Pingback: Alberta Triangles | Mad About Patchwork

  2. Pingback: Basic Wallet Patterns | Bending Pins

  3. Pingback: Simply Solids Progress – WIP Wednesday | Lisa in Port Hope

  4. Pingback: Alberta Clipper | Apple Pie Patchwork

  5. That is so lovely Shena. I really like the way you have demonstrated how fabric placement changes the look of each block. Are you returning to blog writing in the future?

    Like

    • I have often thought about blogging again. Usually what stops me is my lack of acceptable pictures. But I just took a whole bunch yesterday, so maybe I’m going to run out of excuses.

      On Mon, Jun 6, 2016 at 7:50 AM, Apple Pie Patchwork wrote:

      >

      Like

  6. Pingback: Alberta Clipper | Apple Pie Patchwork

Leave a comment