Growing up

As I suspected would happen, I did not sew a lot while the kids had their spring break from school.  For the first half of the week the weather was fabulous, so we went to the park every day and played in the sunshine.  When it got cooler again we had to stay inside a bit more, but since it didn’t rain (or snow) they got more outside time than I expected.  We went to visit family in Calgary too.  So we had a good holiday, but I think I only sewed for about an hour for one day of it.

We went to Ikea while in Calgary and I picked up some play food for the kids while we were there.  They love to play with their toy kitchen, but they had no food.  So when we played restaurant, I would be served pancakes made of lego and cakes made of wooden blocks.  They never complained about it, but I felt bad that they had no play food.  I didn’t want to get them plastic food so when I saw the felt stuff at Ikea, I picked it up right away.

It came with a lot of different stuff, but they wanted to add some pasta to it so they could make macaroni and cheese.  I couldn’t think of a way to make cloth macaroni easily, so I compromised and suggested bow-tie pasta instead.  Thing 1 helped me make it.  I cut rectangles of of a light coloured felt, and then folded it accordion style and sewed a small seam in the middle.  She basically did it herself because it was so easy to do.

Thing 1 pasta

I don’t have a pair of pinking shears or a pinking blade for my rotary cutter, so she snipped the edges into a zig-zag shape by hand.

Thing 1 pasta 2

play food 1

After the pasta was done, I decided to make them a bag to store the food in so that it wouldn’t get lost.  I used the Lined Drawstring Bag pattern by Jeni of In Color Order.  I made the larger bag so that everything would fit.  The kids asked me to use food fabrics, so I used The Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle for the main portion of the bag.  I lined it and made the drawstring with oranges and used cherries for the top panel.

play food 2

Then Thing 1 decided that she wanted to bake a cake all by herself. I let her do everything except put it in the oven since I didn’t want her to burn herself. She chose Old Lady Cake, a recipe of my mom’s that I grew up eating (and loving) but left the raisins out because she does not like raisins. She measured carefully and took her time, but her loaf turned out beautifully. It tasted great too.

Thing 1 baking

I remember when I was a girl that I dreamed that someday I would have a daughter and I would teach her to sew and cook, but now that it’s happening it’s almost like I’m not ready for it. I can’t believe that my oldest is 8 years old already and can do so many things on her own. It makes me want to hold on tight to her and make time slow down, because I know that she will be fully grown before I am ready to let her go. Nostalgia can sneak up on you when you least expect it.

3 thoughts on “Growing up

  1. Entendo disso…Quando dei por mim,já tinha brincado,ensinado e foram para o trabalho e casamento…Mas nosso tempo foi bem aproveitado,fica a nostalgia mesmo…agora netos;E sei que vai passar rápido de novo….Saudades sempre.Aproveite !!!!!!! RECOMEÇO….

    Like

  2. I was most amazed to conclude (at first glance) that all these wonderful play ingredients turned into a very real-looking, never mind delicious, cake. You and your children are quite the team.

    Like

Leave a Reply

