So many pretty things, what do I pick first?

Lately I’ve been a very inconsistent quilter.  What I mean by that is that I have been hopping and skipping from one project to the next faster than you can blink.  This means that I make no meaningful progress on anything and am left with (more) unfinished projects that linger way too long.

Baby quilt, block 1

This is block one of a baby quilt for my brand new nephew, who is excessively cute and has wonderfully squooshy cheeks. He is the first brother to two older sisters. I had this ship fabric from one of Sarah Jane’s fabric lines, and it works so beautifully for fussy cutting. The nursery is in lime green and aqua, so those are the other colours I’m working with.

Pattern testing for ipatch and quilt

I also recently volunteered to test a pattern for Esther at I Patch and Quilt. This is the locomotive, and I have a passenger car and possibly a coal car coming yet as well. I fussy cut a little engineer. I love how he seems to be waving out the window.

And that’s all I’ve got to show even though I’ve been sewing fairly consistently for the last 2 weeks. I need to stick with just one project and get it done. This resolve will last only until the next shiny, pretty thing distracts me. Like those uniforms that the volunteers at the Sochi Olympics are wearing. Do you know how much I want to make a quilt like that now?

4 thoughts on “So many pretty things, what do I pick first?

    • About the text fabric, I’ve been in lots of swaps and got quite a bit of it that way, but I’ve found it in lots of shops online and a very little bit locally. The ledger sheet is from Carolyn Friedlander’s line Architextures, which is getting harder to find these days. I think it came out last year.

      On Fri, Feb 14, 2014 at 9:18 AM, Apple Pie Patchwork wrote:

      >

      Like

Leave a Reply

