A milestone

Today is my 10th wedding anniversary.  I have been with Mr. Apple Pie for half of my life now.  We dated for 4.5 years before we got married, and now we’ve been married for 10 years.  And since I’m 29, that’s half my life.  A little bit mind-boggling when I think about it too seriously.

I was thinking the other day about when we first told each other “I love you”.  Mr. Apple Pie told me he loved me first, and I didn’t know what to say back, so I said, “thank you”. I remember thinking that I might love him, but I was young, only 16, and I wasn’t sure, and I didn’t want him to think I loved him if I didn’t.

I was very analytical and meticulous then, (well, he would argue, rightly so, that I still am) so I really paid attention to how I felt when I was around him, how much I missed him when he wasn’t around for the next couple of weeks, etc., so I could figure out how I felt. I know, so romantic.  About a month later, he said it again, and I felt confident that I could say it back. It seems so funny now, when I look back and think about it.  Naive 16-year-old me could never have imagined how much I would love him all these years later.

I’m feeling kind of sappy and weepy today, since it’s our anniversary, but he’s out of town. On my wedding day, I remember picturing my 10th anniversary, and this was not what I imagined!  We are going to have a dinner date when he gets home, but for today, I will carry on with the routine of bringing kids to and from school, maybe do some Christmas shopping, and spend the evening at Thing 3’s Christmas concert.  And probably cry because she’s so earnest and sweet and adorable.  And therefore make the camera wobble when I’m recording it for Daddy to watch later.

I’m really glad that 14.5 years ago, he saw something in me. He has made my life so full and wonderful.  God gave me something amazing when he brought us together. These first 10 years have been magnificent and I eagerly await he next 50.

Wedding #2

 

That was when he still had hair. 🙂

9 thoughts on “A milestone

  1. Congratulations. You will miss Darren today, but missing each other can have a romantic side. And your weepiness may mean that you miss him more than you think on all those day that it is not your anniversary. But you are brave. And your reflections always find the bright side.

    Like

  2. Happy Anniversary! I was in almost the same place as you when I was 30, married 10 years after dating for 4 1/2, so not quite 1/2 my life. Now we’ve been married for 41 years so together for almost 3 times longer than not together. You’ve brought back a lot of memories for me, including the first time Grizz said ‘I love you’ – I didn’t know what to say either, just cried (was only 16 too). It took me a couple more years before I was ready to take that first step, but never regretted it since!

    Like

  3. Very sweet post! Congratulations on your anniversary and I hope your dinner date turns out wonderfully! I was married young as well and have been with my husband more than 2/3 of my life and married for more than 28 years at this point! Time flies when you’re having fun! Enjoy!

    Like

  4. Hey Shena,
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and feelings. I very much enjoyed reading this post. I was also very analytical the first time I said “I love you”.
    Happy anniversary to both of you. I hope the celebratory dinner date is fun.
    Jason

    Like

Leave a Reply

