Road to Fortune

As I mentioned in my last post, I recently filled an empty spot in the Simply Solids Bee.  I did this partially for selfish reasons, since I knew that if I did so, I would get another turn as queen bee.  I have chosen the Road to Fortune as the block for my bee mates to make.  It is paper pieced, but a simple pattern, and comes together very easily.

I found the block in the EQ7 library, so I sized it to finish at 12″ and uploaded a PDF, which you can find here.  When you print it, you will need 4 co pies, as each page covers 1/4 of the block.  Make sure that your printer is not ‘fit to page’ and that the little box on the pattern measures 1″.

If you are making this block for the Simply Solids Bee, please use an assortment of neutrals, as I did in my practice block, pictured below.  For the coloured section, please use any colours of your choosing in a medium or dark tone.  As you sew the completed segments together, tear away the paper in the seam line and then iron those seams open.  This will help you match the points in the centre pinwheel.  The four outside corners of the block will be slightly blunted when the block is completed, so don’t panic if it is not nice and square at the corners.  If you have any questions, please let me know!

If you are not in my bee but want to use this pattern, please feel free.  It’s a great little block and looks great in solids as well as prints.  It’s been around since the 30s, and is also known as Wheel of Fortune

Simply Solids Aenous - October

6 thoughts on “Road to Fortune

  1. Pingback: Fall is here! | Apple Pie Patchwork

  2. Pingback: Road to Fortune, in progress | Apple Pie Patchwork

Leave a Reply

