Bits and pieces

I been working a little bit on lots of projects lately.  A few blocks for bees, drawstring bags for the kids, and my first ever commissioned project. Does the commissioned project mean that, technically, I’m becoming a professional quilter?  Yikes!  I don’t know if I feel qualified enough for that!

001

I made some more X and + blocks, but they were for me, not the June queens. I just had some nice little aqua scraps I wanted to use up. I love the corner of the one block, with the recipe for Blueberry Muffins. I haven’t tried the recipe, but it looks adorable in the block, don’t you think? And those little mustaches!

Simply Solids Bee, Carmine Group - May blocks

These are the blocks that I’ve gotten so far for the Simply Solids Bee. I made 3 of these, and I’m still waiting on two more. I had originally planned to put sashing between the blocks, but when I put them together, I found some little diamonds that I wasn’t expecting. So I won’t do sashing anymore, but I’ll have to make a few extra blocks to get it up to the size that I want.

Carmine Group: June

This is the block for the June Queen. It’s called a Katherine Wheel. It was challenging, with partial seams and bias edges, but I love the finished product. She will have an amazing quilt at the end of this.

002

And this is the commissioned quilt. The top is done, and Thing 1 is holding it up in the backyard for me. I am hoping to have it quilted and bound within the next week, and then I’ll have to deliver it to the recipient and face her verdict. I am more nervous than I expected to be about this.

And that’s what I’ve been up to.  I have a personal deadline to finish that memory quilt I’m working on before I go out of town in two weeks.  After those two weeks are done, Mr Apple Pie and I will drop the little saplings off at grandma’s house and head to Portland for our first holiday alone in 5 years.  Woot!  I hear Portland has some awesome quilt shops too. . .

4 thoughts on “Bits and pieces

  1. Love the commission quilt- great job. I have heard Bolt Fabric Boutique in Portland is awesome and I also heard great reports about Fabric Depot. Enjoy your trip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

