Forest Path

Slowly but surely, my energy levels are getting better again.  I don’t feel like napping every day anymore, and, most importantly, I have energy to sew again!  I wanted to finish a quilt, not just make some blocks or sew a top together so I made the decision to finish of my donation quilt.  The top was pieced in March and I had originally planned to add a small border, but I scrapped that idea and just set to basting it the way it was.

I’ve been wanting to try out new free-motion designs lately, so I used this quilt to practice another simple one: the loop-de-loops that I’ve seen on many of Denyse Schmidt’s work.  Mine are a lot more wonky than hers, but they had noticeable improved from the start to the finish of quilting, so at least the practicing is helping!

Forest Path 1

Forest Path 2

I noticed after I took these pictures and already donated the quilt that there was a little piece of batting fuzz stuck to the top in this close-up shot. Oh well.

Forest Path 3

My yard is in full blown spring right now and I am loving it. My lilac bushes are full of wonderful fragrant blooms. I cut a few and put them in a vase inside and now my house smells like lilac too. I think having longer winters makes me appreciate the spring-time so much more than I ever did before.

Forest Path 4

Thing 3 also loves it that she can be outside more now. This is only slightly influenced by the fact that she can eat cheezies again. I don’t let the kids eat cheezies in the house, so they can only eat them in the warmer months when they can eat them outside. Getting fluorescent orange cheese out of your light coloured carpet is not as easy as I thought it would be.

Forest Path 5

Yesterday was another beautiful spring day. It was the last day Mr. Apple Pie was home so he was of course drafted into the quilt-holder job. The breeze was nice to feel, but slightly troublesome when it came to quilt photography.

Forest Path 6

Thing 3 saved the day and held the corner of quilt steady enough for me to take a picture of it. I love how she’s looking at her daddy behind the quilt. So sweet.

Forest Path 7

Thing 3 turned 3 years old yesterday. She’s been such an amazing blessing to our family. She’s so quick to smile and laugh, she’s friendly and outgoing, a little bit of tease, and just so happy all the time. Life was made so much sweeter when she joined us. The poor thing has a dreadful cold right now and she’s still happy and smiling.

Forest Path 8

I’ll leave you with the shot in the ash tree. Since I started taking pictures of my quilts in the same spot in the yard, I really notice the changes in the seasons more. It’s fitting that this green quilt gets its turn in the tree when everything is lush and flourishing around it.

11 thoughts on “Forest Path

Leave a Reply

