Childhood memories

Last summer, my brother-in-law married my wonderful sister-in-law.  It was such a beautiful wedding.  The weather was fabulous, the setting was so perfect, the ceremony was so sweet, and the party after was the perfect ending to a great day.  At some point, before or after the wedding, I’m not sure, she gave me some of her and her sister’s old pajamas for Thing 1.  She said they had long since outgrown them, and her mother had kept them for years, not being able to donate them because of the memories associated with them.  Her mother had made these pjs for her and her sister, so in the end, they decided to give them to me for Thing 1, so that they would still be used and loved.

My sister-in-law is one of the friendliest people I know.  She’s also gorgeous, and looks like Jennifer Lawrence.  Because we do not live near each other, I do not know her as well as I would like to.  We have busy lives, and the distance does not make it easy to get together for a quick cup of coffee or a short jaunt to the mall.  When I realized that Thing 1 was actually already too big for the clothes, I started thinking that it would be a great idea to make a little quilt out of them, and give them back to my sister-in-law’s mother as a way to store her memories.  I have found that quilts are the best way to store memories.  My own brain is too faulty for that sort of thing.

I asked my sister-in-law if she thought that was a good idea, and she said to go for it.  So I started planning, and then I did some cutting.  I had to do some stabilizing too, because I was working with knits.

memory 1

This is what I ended up with. There were some fabrics that I didn’t use yet, but I plan to stick them on the back. I forgot to take some pictures of the pjs before I started (there’s that faulty memory of mine again), and I had to change the design at times because the clothes were not as big as I had planned for them to be, but all in all, I like how it ended up.

memory 2

memory 3

Now I don’t know if my sister-in-law reads this blog, and I’m fairly certain that her mom doesn’t, and if she does, I guess this quilt is not a surprise anymore. 🙂 I hope to have it finished when we all go back to visit at the end of the school year, the very end of June.  I work best under deadlines, so that will hopefully not be a problem.  After all, it just needs basting, quilting, binding, and possibly a sleeve.  I could do it in a day or two, but will probably put it off way longer than is comfortable.  Sometimes I think procrastination should be my middle name.  🙂

One thought on “Childhood memories

Leave a Reply

