Some catch-up stuff

I’ve come to realize that when the kids have a school holiday, I don’t sew or blog as much. I also don’t clear my Google Reader as frequently. But, school started again today, so in the near future I should get caught up again, and also have some uninterrupted sewing time. Woot!

While the holidays were on, the local museum was running some great kids’ programs. We have a membership with the museum, so we get free admission and went there a lot over the holidays. The kids made cards, topsy-turvy dolls, handmade paper, and felted their own ear warmers. All these programs are free with the price of admission, and they also often tie in to the rotating exhibits that the museum has.

felted ear warmers

They chose their own colours from the wool, and then gradually hand felted them using warm water and lots of (my) muscle power. Thing 1’s is the top, the blue for Thing 2, and dark grey for Thing 3. I still have to sew the buttons on the bottom two, but Thing 1 took hers to school today, and is very eager to show it off.

I did a little bit of sewing and made a few more rainbow log cabins. I have added 6 purple and 6 more red to the pile. I have 31 blocks total now.

rainbow log cabin 5

This picture is not great, but the kids had a whole bunch of toys set up in the living room where I typically take pictures because the light is much better there. They were playing nicely, so I didn’t want to tempt fate and ask them to move.

I also joined my first bee, the Simply Solids Bee run by Sew at Home Mummy. I am in one of the two Canadian groups. My month is May, so I have a bit of time yet to come up with the block that I want the group to make for me, and also to learn the ropes of how bees work and such. I added the button to my sidebar a while back, but kept forgetting to blog about it. The instructions for the first block have already been posted, so I hope to get started soon!

Sew at Home Mummy: Simply Solids a modern {bee}

I look forward to working with solids a little more, and I hope my first bee experience goes well.  I also want to finish off that UFO list that I posted a few months ago.  Lots of stuff to work on, and now with the kids back in school, I hope I have a little more time to do some sewing!

Leave a Reply

