Happy New Year!

It is 2/3 of the way through the last day of 2012 where I live.  2012 was on the whole a good year for us at the Apple Pie house, and we look forward to what 2013 will bring.  (2013 is, incidentally, the fist year since 1987 to have 4 different numbers in it.)

There are a number of things that I’ve been meaning to blog about for a few days, but haven’t gotten around to.  I want to amend what I said in my last post, about my mom not being here in 2.5 years.  She corrected me that it is, in fact, 1.5 years since she has last been here.  I admit my mistake.  It was wonderful to see her again.  The kids had a blast with her, and immensely enjoyed having her around.  They were sorry to see her go yesterday, and look forward to when we can all see her again.

River

I’ve not a had a chance to do much sewing lately, but I did finish off a few things about a week ago. These are some leftover Deco Shimmer pieces that I wanted to use up, so I’m going to stitch them together for a little doll quilt. I fiddled a bit with the layout, and settled on this. It reminds me a little of a river, the way it winds back and forth.

drawstring bag 1

drawstring bag 2

I made a drawstring bag, using the free pattern by Jeni of In Color Order. It came together very quickly and the instructions were very clear. I will definitely be making more of these in the future.

drawstring bag 3

This little bag is the perfect size for a medium sized bottle of Gibson’s whiskey, which my husband got as a gift for a co-worker. I made the bag as reusable wrapping paper.

Thing 123

And, last but definitely not least, we celebrated Thing 1’s birthday on the 28th. 8 years old already! She is turning into a little lady and becoming less of a little girl. Happy Birthday, Sweetie!

And to all of you, I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and a great New Year. Stay up late for my sake, since I’ll probably be in bed by 10 as I have no parties to go to. See you next year!

One thought on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

