Pink is now a colour in the rainbow

Yesterday I had laundry to fold.  Like four baskets of laundry to fold.  People who know me will know that folding laundry is one of my least favourite things to do.  So, like any other good housewife, I procrastinated and sewed instead.  The result was a productive and happier afternoon.  The kids may have had to dig through clean laundry baskets to find matching socks though.

I worked on my rainbow log cabin blocks again.  Pink is now officially a colour in the rainbow.  I didn’t think I had that many pink scraps since I don’t use it a lot, but when I opened the tub, I realized that there were more there than I thought.  I friend of mine recently gave me a huge pile of fabric, and there were a fair number of pink scraps in there.  I went through the tub and dug out the strips, and then cut more strips from the larger pieces.  I made six blocks, but could probably easily make six more with the strips I have leftover.

rainbow pink

My stack of rainbow blocks is steadily growing. I will make more red, orange, yellow, and green blocks, and I think also some purple ones. Then I will start working on a layout and see if I need to make any more. It is so much fun and so freeing to sew like this. And the rainbow effect is so fabulously happy! Just what I need for the shorter, greyer days of the winter.

rainbow log cabin 4

I’ve been working on the lighter version of the Road Trip QAL too, but I haven’t taken pictures, so you’ll just have to take my word for it. Only five more sleeps until Christmas, and only six more sleeps until my mom comes for a visit. She hasn’t been here in about 2.5 years, and it will be great to see her again. (Just to clarify, I saw her in the summer, she just hasn’t been to my house in 2.5 years.) The kids are super stoked, and have added a second countdown by their advent calendar. For some reason, Christmas kind of snuck up on me this year, but it is a very welcome surprise.

One thought on “Pink is now a colour in the rainbow

  1. I have to admit that when I saw your blog title and the pink pic pop up in my reader I thought “ewww”, but then I’m not a pink person. But WOW!!! When you see them mixed in with the rest of your blocks they look wonderful! I usually give all pink fabrics that come in charm packs or bundles to my daughter to practice with… I just may have to rethink that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

