Primary Pinwheels

I’m still in a bit of a sewing slump.  I’ve been sick lately and haven’t had much energy for anything, so sewing has to come after catching up on housework.  I did manage to finish another one of my UFOs, though.  I called this Primary Pinwheels, because I couldn’t think of anything else to call it, and I wanted to get the label done so I could wash the quilt and cross it off the list.

Primary Pinwheels 2

I was inspired to make this quilt when I read a book on shadow quilts years ago. There was a photo of a quilt by a Japanese maker that was similar to this. I cannot remember the maker or the name of the book since I read it years ago, when this project was started. That’s right, the oldest UFO is now officially off the list!

Primary Pinwheels 3

I had to take it all apart and sew it back together correctly, since the smaller pinwheel chain didn’t flow the way it was supposed to. I’m glad to finally have it done now, and I’ve fallen in love with it all over again. I love how the colours blend from yellow to green and from red to purple.

Primary Pinwheels 4

I bound it in an awesome rainbow stripe that I picked up in Montana a few months ago. I snatched that bolt off the shelf mere seconds after I saw it, since I knew it would make the perfect binding for this quilt. Maybe it was serendipitous that I make those mistakes when I first sewed it all those years ago.

Primary Pinwheels 5

I quilted it with azure blue thread, and stitched 1/4″ away from the main seams. The stars that formed where all the stitching meets are a nice bonus that I didn’t realize would happen. I’m glad they did though! I think it measure about 74″ square, but I would have to double check to be certain. Either way, it’s plenty big for snuggling under on the couch as the cold weather starts coming!

Tomorrow is my turn on the Canadian Blog Hop, and I have a great giveaway to share. It started on Monday and runs the rest of the week. You can read my intro post here if you want to find a list of the other hosts, since they’ve all got giveways to enter as well. See you tomorrow!

One thought on “Primary Pinwheels

Leave a Reply

