Tutorial: My Granny is a Star

As part of the Let’s Get Acquainted Blog Hop, we were asked to put together a tutorial.  I was inspired by all the Granny Square quilts that I’ve seen around blogland lately.  It is definitely on my bucket list for sometime in the near future.  In the meantime, I’ve come up with an alternate version of it.

For this block you will need:
2 – 3 1/4″ squares for star points (white in the sample)
2 – 3 1/4″ squares for background of star points (red in sample)
9 – 2 1/2″ squares of red
13 – 2 1/2″ squares of white
16 – 2 1/2″ squares of green

Granny tut 7

This is the block we are making. I called it My Granny is a Star. Both of my grandmothers are deceased, but they were wonderful women. My grandmother-in-law, still living, is also a very fine lady. So this block is in honour of all of them.

We will start by making our hourglass blocks which make up the star points in the block.

Granny mosaic

Layer a white 3 1/4″ square with a red one. Mark the diagonal (this is hard to see in the photo, but there is a faint line there). Mark both white squares and match them with the red squares. Sew 1/4″ away from the line, on both sides of the line. Cut the squares in half, on the marked line, and press them toward the red.

You will now have 4 HSTs. Mark the diagonal on two of them, and layer them with the two unmarked HSTs, matching red with white. Sew 1/4″ away from the marked line, cut, and press. You should end up with 4 hourglass units that measure 2 1/2″. Trim if needed.

Granny tut 5

Lay out your block, and sew it together in rows.

Granny tut 6

Alternate the direction of the pressed seams, as indicated by the arrows.

Granny tut 7

You should end up with a block that looks like this. Trim your block, leaving a 1/4″ seam allowance along the outside edge. My block finished at 11 3/4″

Granny tut 8

What you want to make with these blocks is up to you. I made three blocks altogether, in order to make a Christmas themed table runner, since my house is seriously lacking in Christmas decor, which is unusual, since I love Christmas and am always being told by Mr. Apple Pie that putting up the tree in November is not a good idea. Scrooge! He usually lets me put it up the first weekend in December, by which time I’ve already been playing Christmas music for a few weeks.

Granny tut 9

 

I sashed the blocks with a 2″ white solid.

I hope this tutorial makes sense! Let me know in the comments if you’re having any trouble understanding, and I’ll try to clear it up.

15 thoughts on “Tutorial: My Granny is a Star

  1. Pingback: Let’s Get Acquainted Blog Hop | Apple Pie Patchwork

Leave a Reply

