Deco Shimmer: Finished top!

I’ve finished the top for Deco Shimmer.  The blocks are now officially a flimsy!  I love that quilting term, flimsy.  It just reminds me so much that quilting has such a long and strong history.  Plus, it’s fun to say. Flimsy.

I waited a few days to take pictures of the flimsy (haha) because I wanted to take pictures of it outside in the sun, and since the only persons available were of a rather short stature, I had to wait for Mr. Apple Pie to be around, and that meant waiting for the weekend.

Deco flimsy 1

The wind, of course, did not want to cooperate fully.  Not wholly unsurprising, and I rather like how it makes the flimsy (heehee) look like it’s playing in the breeze.  The piecing went together very quickly, and since there are only four blocks in the quilt.  It’s the first time that I’ve made a quilt with such large blocks, and I really like the bolder look that they give.  The pattern was very clear and easy to follow. If you’re interested in the pattern, it should be being released soon.  And, if you follow HMGR Quilting, then you’ll know as soon as she as it ready for release!

Deco flimsy 2

I love how when the sun shines through the flimsy it makes it look like stained glass.  The shadow is rather cute too.  The colours almost glow!  I think the finished size of this quilt is 54″x54″.  There are no borders forthcoming, and frankly, I don’t think it needs them.  I hope to have it quilted and bound soon, but I have to finish up my community quilt first.

I’m linking this finished flimsy up to TGIFF, which is being hosted by Kristy at Quiet Play this week.  Finishing something is a great accomplishment, and deserves to be celebrated, don’t you think?  Maybe I should make a pie.

12 thoughts on “Deco Shimmer: Finished top!

  1. I absolutely love this! Gorgeous colours, gorgeous design! What’s not to love?!

    Glad I’m not the only one who loves the word flimsy, though I have yet to bring myself to use it but “quilt top” sounds much less interesting!

    Like

  2. Oh, I love it! I’ve been thinking about curves lately, I might have to keep an eye out for when this pattern is release 🙂 Looking forward to seeing it finished, it’s beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

