Road Trip QAL: Colorado Pass

So, this is block number 11 12 of 16 for the QAL.  I’m beginning to sense that my blogging is lagging behind my sewing, since I finished this block at least two weeks ago.  The construction of this block was very straightforward: half-square triangles and squares.  The only tricky part was making sure that all the HSTs were oriented correctly so that I got the windmill turning the right direction in the centre.

QAL Colorado

Looking at this picture, I can tell that fall is on its way, since the grass is not nearly so green, and there are more leaves on the ground than the last time I took pictures of quilt blocks outside.  I’m totally loving the way the solid red pops in the dark block.

QAL light 1-12

These were taken on the shady side of the lawn, and I can tell the colours are not as vibrant.  Oh, well.  The sun is getting harder and harder to come by in the backyard anyway, as we get closer to the end of the summer.  (I know it’s fall now, but it was still summer when I took these photos.)

QAL dark 1-12

Here’s the dark set.  I’m noticing I used lots of different shades of orange.  I think my favourite orange of the lot is the polka dot orange in the Wyoming Valley block (row 3, block 3).  Actually, I think that’s just my favourite block in general.  Not wholly surprising, since I tend to favour star blocks.

I’m linking this up to WIP Wednesday at the Needle and Thread Network again.  One of the highlights of my week is seeing what the other Canadian crafters are up to, since it’s always such nice stuff.
Right Click to Save Image

6 thoughts on “Road Trip QAL: Colorado Pass

Leave a Reply

