Cathedral Windows

Phew.  VBS is done, and while it was busy, I’m also thankful that it was very rewarding.  The kids were pleasant and for the most part, listened very well.  It’s nice to have a little more free time now that it’s done though.

I have taken pictures of the dress I made, and I’ve hemmed pants and made little doll pillows in the meantime, but I haven’t really done any really meaty sewing yet.  Hopefully in the next day or two that will happen.  Plus, the main computer’s hard drive is acting up, and I’m not sure if I want to upload any photos to it just yet.

In the meantime, I’ll share an older quilt with you.  This quilt, Cathedral Stars, is made from a free Bonnie Hunter pattern.  I used up a lot of the scraps that I had at the time, and have since more than replenished that stock.  🙂  I worked on it off an on for a long time, kind of like a background project that I pulled out when I felt like sewing but didn’t have anything specific that I had to finish right away.  What finally motivated me to get into gear and make it my priority was my guild’s biannual quilt show.  I wanted to enter something, and it seemed like a good candidate to me.

Cathedral Stars

My husband took this shot of me and Thing 2 (oh he was so little then!) in front of my quilt as it hung it the show.  I love that it’s so very scrappy, yet it still looks planned.  And that narrow red-orange border just jumps out at me; I love it! This quilt is the one that currently sits on my own bed, and I have no plans to replace it anytime soon.  It’s warm and cozy and it has so many colours in it, that I have a feeling it will match the walls no matter what colour I decide to paint them!

3 thoughts on “Cathedral Windows

  1. Very beautiful. Many details for the eye to feast on, such as the colour of the corners of the outside rectangles, and the up-and-down red banners which do not have their horizontal counterpart. Amazing,

    Like

  2. Pingback: Let’s Get Acquainted Blog Hop | Apple Pie Patchwork

Leave a Reply

