WIP Wednesday (on Tuesday)

Last week I did WIP Wednesday on Thursday.  This week, I’m doing it a day early, on Tuesday.  Maybe someday I’ll learn how to read a calendar properly.

I have so many different projects on the go right now that I could probably write about a different one every week for two months and still not have covered them all.  I’m really, really good at making quilt tops, it’s just the converting of the top into a quilt that I lack at a little.  This week I’m going to share my Urban Nine Patch (U9P) made with the Quick Curve Ruler, designed by Jenny Pedigo of Sew Kind of Wonderful.  This ruler is amazing and makes sewing curves so simple.  I sewed all these curves without a single pin!  And they were the first curved quilt blocks that I ever attempted!

U9P 1

I started with the blocks just straight on, and then I tried them on point.

U9P 3

U9P 2

Here are the blocks on point.  I’ve made five altogether so far, and have the fabric cut for at least ten more, so I’ve got a bit of work to do on this one yet.  I think, I like them better on point, but no firm decision on that is likely to be made for awhile.  I’m a fly by the seat of my pants kind of quilter, so what strikes my fancy on one day might be thoroughly rejected a week later.  Or a month later, as is more often the case.

Now, I really will actually link this to The Needle and Thread Network.  I promise I’m not too late this time.  The other Canadian bloggers, much more organized than me, I’m sure will do this much more efficiently.  But I can chalk this all up to being a new blogger, right?

14 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday (on Tuesday)

  1. These are beautiful blocks, I love the look of solid quilts. I must look into that ruler-you said it’s easy to use, does it come with instructions and block options?

    Like

    • She has a number of patterns available on her blog, but the pattern I used, U9P, is a free one that was part of a quilt along, that I joined after the quilt along was finished. She also has some excellent videos on YouTube for cutting and sewing the curves, and then squaring up the blocks later.

      Like

  2. I’ve seen this ruler is use a few times, but haven’t gotten it…..yet…..! You did a fantastic job on the blocks! Love your colour choices and the sewing is perfect.

    Like

  3. Very vibrant and I love them on point! I am with you on being a quilt top maker but I never know how to finish them and I tend not to send them off to be done….wanna do them myself so….lots of tops! I have to check this curve technique out and no, we are not ALL organized…I’m trying though ! 🙂

    Like

  4. I love your blocks, but I don’t need any encouragement to buy more quilt rulers…..and I wouldn’t worry about which day you post, it is not as if you where sending your kids off to school (or not) on wrong days – not that I have any experience with that.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Pattern testing: Deco Shimmer | Apple Pie Patchwork

  6. Pingback: Let’s Get Acquainted Blog Hop | Apple Pie Patchwork

Leave a Reply

