Another WIP and a happy milestone

Yesterday was a busy day for me and I didn’t get any sewing done.  Life happens, and I’m glad it does.  My little man, my four year old, graduated from preschool yesterday!  I’m so proud of him.  He’s worked so hard in the last year and he’s matured so much.  He used to get frustrated to easily and now he’s calmer and takes his time with things.  He’s still very much a little boy, but it’s like he’s changing into such a little man before my eyes.  Here he is in his cap and gown (which he complained ever so politely was way too hot).  His sister decided to photobomb the shot with her foot.  

I do have a work in progress to share with you.  It is WIP Wednesday, after all.  This is a kaleidoscope quilt that I made using Maxine Rosenthaal’s book, One Block Wonders.  I originally just had the kaleidoscope blocks in there, but I wanted to add a little bit of zing, so I added the hollow cubes.  I made one blue cube escape from the mothership, like a little tiny borg cube headed off to assimilate some poor starship somewhere.  I love the 3-D dimension the cubes add, and how it jumps off of the wall at me now.  I mean to finish this quilt soon, but it will probably have to wait until after the summer, since my summer will be crazily busy and I have lots of other commitments to get to before then.

Here are some close-ups of my favourite few blocks.  The original fabric was a winter village scene, and I love how some of the blocks look like colourful snowflakes.

I’m linking this up to WIP Wednesday at the Needle and Thread Network.   I’m too late for the deadline.  Oops, I thought it was still Wednesday.  Oh well.  Head on over there and see what other great projects Canadian bloggers are working on anyway.

One thought on “Another WIP and a happy milestone

Leave a Reply

