Past Projects: Moonlight Diamonds

I realized yesterday that all the things I have posted have some element of red in them.  I suppose, since red is my favourite colour, that is not wholly unsurprising, but I wanted to show that I can work without red, and still love the results.

This quilt is called Moonlight Diamonds.  I made it from a pattern in a magazine somewhere, though I cannot for the life of me remember which one it was.  I can’t remember either if the original used the same colours.  I am in the middle behind it, holding it up, while my older two are on the sides, poking around.  I finished it earlier this year, but the top sat on a shelf for probably about 8 months before I got around to quilting it.  As I go back through the projects I’ve finished, I’m starting to see a theme of tops being completed quickly and then sitting for a long time.  Hmmm.

This is also the quilt that I used in the header for the blog.  My husband snapped this shot of the ladybugs on the quilt.  There were actually way more on the quilt, probably close to 20, but these guys posed so nicely near the binding, and you can see the front and back at the same time too, that this ended up being my favourite snapshot.

And this is where the quilt lives now.  The lighting in this shot is very bad, due to this room having only one small window and it being cloudy outside.  This is my baby’s bedroom.  Oh, I know she isn’t really a baby anymore since she turned 2 a couple weeks ago and she sleeps in a big girl bed, but she still so little to me.  It’s actually a little short for the bed, and had I planned to put it in this room when I made it, I would have added an extra row of blocks, but it works for now, and matches her room quite nicely, especially since I never planned on putting it in there in the first place.  Though, come to think of it, I don’t usually plan where a quilt will end up when I make it; I just feel like making something when I start a new project.  Plus, how else will those tops linger so long on a shelf before they’re quilted, if I don’t distract myself by making something new in the meantime?

One thought on “Past Projects: Moonlight Diamonds

Leave a Reply

