My first quilt along

I’m joining my first ever quilt along, the Road Trip Quilt Along, hosted by Sewing by Moonlight.  So far I’ve made two versions of the first block, Virginia.

This is my first block, followed by the second.

My colour scheme for the entire quilt is still not quite decided, but I chose oranges and whites for this block.  I’m not sure yet which block I prefer.  I really like how the fussy cut centres turned out though.  I’ll probably use whichever block works the best with all the rest of them, once the instructions come out and I make them.

Here they are again side by side.  They work very well together, being negative images of each other.  It was a really fun block to make, and I look forward to seeing the rest of them and how they all go together.

You can join the quilt along at Sewing by Moonlight.  Check it out.

5 thoughts on “My first quilt along

  1. I’m having a hard time picking a favorite of yours too – they are both great! Love the red and white combo, but the orange really just *makes* it! 🙂 I ended up making two blocks for this week’s block, too. Depending on how the rest of them go, I might end up making extras of a couple of them and then using them to make a slightly larger quilt. Perhaps that goes against the tradition of a ‘sampler’ quilt, but rules are made to be broken, right?

    Like

  2. “Sampler” is a sampler of whatever you would like to make it. We will only end up with 16 blocks, enough for a small throw sized quilt, but you can easily add more and make a larger project. I love the warm colors together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

